The key standards to achieving a Triangle of Care in dementia

The Triangle of Care - a guide to improving dementia care has been developed by the Royal College of Nursing and the Carers Trust and funded by the RCN Foundation. This guide identifies 6 key standards required to achieve better collaboration and partnership with carers.

Each standard is supplemented by good practice examples and resources that may be helpful.

The 6 key standards state that:

* Carers and the essential role they play are identified at first contact or as soon as possible thereafter.

* Staff are 'carer aware' and trained in carer engagement strategies.

* Policy and practice protocols regarding confidentiality and sharing information, are in place.

* Defined post(s) responsible for carers are in place.

* A carer introduction to the service and staff is available, with a relevant range of information across the care pathway.

* A range of carer support services is available.

Press release

No comments: