Minister appoints Advisory Committee for Rural Health

Health Minister Jillian Skinner last week announced the appointment of members to the NSW Government's first Rural Health Advisory Committee. Mrs Skinner said the 20-member Ministerial Advisory Committee for Rural Health will advise her on ways to improve patient care in rural NSW.

"Since coming to Government, the NSW Liberals & Nationals have made their commitment to rural health clear : we want to ensure patients in our country areas receive quality care, closer to home," Mrs Skinner said. "My decision to create a Ministerial Advisory Committee for Rural Health forms part of this commitment." Mrs Skinner said the 20 members of the Ministerial Advisory Committee for Rural Health had a wide range of experience in medicine, nursing, allied health, academia, administration and management.

The committee will be co-chaired by Lismore surgeon Associate Professor Austin Curtin and the NSW Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Health, Melinda Pavey, who will work with committee members to develop strategies to enhance health services in rural and regional NSW. Western NSW is well represented by Scott McLachlan (CEO-WNSWLHD), Dr. Robin Williams (Chair WNSWLHD), Assoc. Professor David Perkins (Broken Hill Centre for Remote Health Research) and Val Keed (Peak Hill AMS).

Ministerial press release

Terms of reference

Membership of Committee list

No comments: