National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care developed the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards to drive the implementation and use of safety and quality systems and improve the quality of health service provision in Australia. The Standards also provide a nationally consistent statement of the level of care consumers should be able to expect from health services.

There are 10 NSQHS Standards focusing on areas that are essential to improving patient safety and quality of care:

1. Governance for Safety and Quality in Health Service Organisations
2. Partnering with Consumers
3. Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections
4. Medication Safety
5. Patient Identification and Procedure Matching
6. Clinical Handover
7. Blood and Blood Products
8. Preventing and Managing Pressure Injuries
9. Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care
10. Preventing Falls and Harm from Falls

The NSQHS Standards were selected because they address areas where:

The impact is on a large number of patients
There is a known gap between the current situation and best practice outcomes, and
Improvement strategies exist that are evidence based and achievable.

No comments: