Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Australia's new national registration and accreditation scheme begins on 1 July 2010. From this date, a new National Law (the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009) will come into effect and 10 health professions will be regulated by nationally consistent legislation.

For the first time, there will be one National Board setting standards and policies for the regulation of each of the 10 Australian health professions covered by the National Law. Each National Board will be supported in this task by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA), which will be providing services to the National Boards.

The 10 professional Boards covered under the legislation are Chiropractic, Dental, Medical, Nursing & Midwifery, Optometry, Osteopathy, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, Podiatry and Psychology.

No comments: